Hello!

Chiffon cake, Filipino styled frosting, multi coloured Flower Wedding Cake - By my mother & me.

Hello! I would like to introduce my new blog, a kitty & her cakes.

For as long as I can remember I have had an interest in cake decorating. From the time I was old enough to see over the kitchen table top, I watched my mother decorating cakes. She would make traditional Filipino cakes for friends, creating pretty, fluffy masterpieces, that fascinated me. She learnt from her mother, who learnt from hers,  relying on cakes to make money to share with the family – growing up in the Philippines. When mum moved to Australia she kept on cooking. So for as long as I can remember there has been cakes. I guess any little girl would fall in love with sweet fluffy frosting, feather light ruffles & rainbow colored, delicate sugary flowers.

So I watched and I learnt, and I grew older.

Chiffon Cake, with fluffy frosting & fantasy sugar flowers - A garden wedding cake by my mother & me.

For 20 years now, I have decorated as a hobby. Tinkering with decorations for cakes with my mum, doing the odd cake for a friend.  Its something I always go back to, a gift passed from mother to daughter.

I’m 31 now, and this year I have made the commitment to myself to learn more. I have never called myself a cake decorator. I don’t have the confidence.  But I want to get better, I want to practice & learn.  I’m going to push myself to create something new each month, to learn a new technique, to move away from my comfort zones. This blog will document my projects, my successes & my failures.  I’m excited to start, because even the most stressful flop will teach me something I didn’t know before.

A blue themed anniversary cake. Chiffon cake, fluffy icing & sugar flowers - By my mother & me.

Well, that’s a little about me. I look forward to the rest of the year, and the projects to come.

Thanks for dropping by!

Miss Cat 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hello!

Leave a Reply

